Skip to main content

Massachusetts Society of Professors

The Union of Faculty and Librarians at UMass Amherst


Executive Committee

MSP’s Co-Presidents, Vice Presidents, Secretary, and Treasurer make up the Executive Committee, informally known as MSP officers. They set the agenda for the Executive Board, evaluate priorities and plans, and oversee the MSP budget and operations.  MSP officers are elected by the membership at the spring General Assembly membership meeting.  Officers meet separately from the Executive Board during alternate weeks on Wednesday from 8:45 - 10:00 a.m. The Executive Committee also meets with the Chancellor and Provost once a month to discuss important issues raised by faculty and librarians. Officers serve two-year terms.  

Executive Committee


Eve Weinbaum

Labor Center/Sociology, Thompson Hall, 7-0458


Marc Liberatore

Computer Science, Computer Science Bldg, 5-3061

Vice President

Christine Turner

Collection Services, W.E.B. Du Bois Library, 7-1026

Vice President

Sigrid Schmalzer

History, Herter Hall, 5-6776


Jeanne Brunner

TECS, Furcolo Hall, 5-9392

Vice President

Asha Nadkarni

English, South College, 5-5495


Jacquie Kurland

Communication Disorders, Communication Disorders Building #315, 5-4007


Kate Hudson

Educational Policy, Research and Admin, Furcolo Hall, 7-3148

Executive Board

The MSP Executive Board is the decision-making body of the union.  Executive Board members are elected at the spring General Assembly membership meeting. Meetings are held every two weeks on Wednesday from 8:45 - 10:00 a.m. Board members serve three-year terms.

Executive Board

Jen Adams

English, South College, 5-5518

Michael Ash

Economics, Crotty Hall, 5-6329

Madeleine Charney

Research & Learning Svcs, Libraries

Maciej Ciesielski

Electrical & Computer Engineering, Knowles, 5-0401

Laura Francis

Biology, Morrill 3, 5-2599

Clare Hammonds

Labor Center/Sociology, Thompson Hall, 5-0577

Emily Heaphy

Management, Isenberg

Christine Ho

History of Art & Architecture, South College, 5-8712

Toussaint Losier

Afro-American Studies, New Africa House, 5-2751

Josh Michal

Music and Dance, Fine Arts Center

Fareen Parvez

Sociology, Thompson Hall

Shelly Peyton

Chemical Engineering, Life Sciences Lab

Dean Robinson

Political Science, Thompson Hall, 5-0406

Jordy Rosenberg

English, South College

Tristram Seidler

Biology, Morrill III South, 5-2775

Priyanka Srivastava

History, Herter Hall, 5-2751

John Staudenmayer

Math & Stats, LGRT, 5-0999

Brokk Toggerson

Physics, Hasbrouck

Kevin Young

History, Herter Hall

Department Representatives and Activists

The MSP Department Reps and Activists are the first line of communication between what is happening in departments and the union. We rely on Reps and Activists to bring to the MSP issues that matter to faculty and librarians, while also letting our members know what the union is planning and how members can be involved.  Department Reps and Activists help MSP advance our mission as a social justice union to fight for more than just bread-and-butter issues, and to be engaged and involved in issues affecting our students and our community.

Contact the MSP Office for information on current department reps or if you are interested in representing MSP in your department.

Contract Bargaining Team and Support Committees

Every three years, the MSP elects a Contract Bargaining Team to negotiate the successor collective bargaining agreement.  This small group of faculty and librarians sits across the table from the administration, negotiates, and discusses any proposed changes to the contract.  At the same time, Bargaining Support Committees are responsible for working on specific issues, formulating bargaining proposals, and mobilizing people to support our positions.

The Contract Bargaining Team for the 2023-2026 contract in alphabetical order, consists of: Kate Hudson (College of Education), Marc Liberatore (CICS), Lori Reardon (MSP Senior Staff), Sigrid Schmalzer (History/HFA), Brendan Sharkey (MTA) and Jeremy Smith (Libraries).

Faculty Advocates

Several faculty members serve as Faculty Advocates.  Formerly known as the Grievance Committee, this group works closely with individual faculty who are experiencing problems or trying to avoid potential problems in the workplace.  Faculty Advocates often accompany our colleagues to meetings, strategize about resolving concerns, and serve as liaisons with the MSP to support our members.

If assistance is needed, the MSP will pair members up with a Faculty Advocate. Current Faculty Advocates are: Luke Bouvier (French and Italian), Erik Cheries (Psychological and Brain Sciences), Steve Eyles (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), Josh Michal (Music and Dance), Emily Hamilton (History), Kate Hudson (Educational Policy, Research & Administration), Melanie Radik (Libraries) and Caroline Yang (English).


Brendan Sharkey 
MTA Consultant

Brendan is our MTA Consultant assigned to represent MSP. He assists our local with contract language enforcement through both informal and formal processes and connects us to important MTA initiatives.  

Lori Reardon
MSP Senior Staff

Lori assists and informs individual bargaining unit members regarding a wide range of issues related to their rights, benefits and working conditions under the union contract. She works with UMass administrators to enforce contracts and resolve issues informally. She also sits at the bargaining table and serves as a resource in MSP contract negotiations and campaigns.  Lori coordinates and facilitates workshops for members (tenure, promotion, personnel committee, PMYR, etc.) and is an invaluable resource for any tenure related questions. 

Brian Hennigan
MSP Staff/Organizer

Brian recruits new members and union activists in order to build and strengthen the union.  He works on organizing initiatives and coordinates member outreach during campaigns.  He conducts new employee union orientations and assists new and current employees with membership questions and concerns.  Brian also meets with and helps problem-solve workplace issues for MSP’s non-tenure track faculty members and provides staff support to MSP leaders responsible for union governance.

Alisa Brewer
MSP Membership Coordinator

Alisa maintains and updates the union’s membership records.  She processes payroll deductions in coordination with HR and acts as the liaison between MSP and MTA with regard to collection of member dues/fees. Alisa assists members with questions and issues specific to invoices, payroll deduction and membership status.